Interview with our Bethesda showroom Manager, Steve.

Steve

Steve with our Bi-Folding Bookcase Murphy Bed in birch wood.

 

Salesperson: Steve Doyle

Interviewer: Olivia Kim (Marketing Assistant)

How long have you been with Hardwood Artisans?

I started working in 1987. I was away for two years for grad school, so in total it’s about 27 years till this date.

What do you like to do in your free time?

I do many things in my free time. I like to read books. I tend to read good number of books related to my topic of interest. Recently I read some physics books. I also like to look at geography and historical books. I go to the gym to workout,  check out new, interesting restaurants. I like to spend time with my wife at church.

Do you have any favorite restaurants?

My go to place for lunch is St. Elmo’s deli which is right by the Bethesda showroom. It’s a great place to get delicious sandwiches. They have friendly staff and good food. I’ve never failed at my choice of sandwiches.

For dinner, I like to go to Jaleo, it’s a Spanish tapas place on Woodmont Avenue, Bethesda.

I heard you are from this area.

Yes! (gets very excited) Bethesda is my hometown. I was born at Suburban Hospital just off the Old Georgetown.

I grew up in this area, went to Bethesda Elementary, Leland Junior High, and Bethesda Chevy Chase High School.

Very cool, what do you like most about Bethesda?

Bethesda has a relatively small, local community vibe although it has changed quite a bit. No matter how much it changes, Bethesda will always be my home and favorite place to be.

What do you like most about working in the showroom?

Definitely the people I meet. I have met many interesting and cool people while working. It’s very fun to meet different people, getting the opportunity to talk with them and build relationships.

Which is your favorite piece or collection in the showroom? And why?

(thinks for a few moments)

The Waterfall Collection, because it is very elegant.

The style translates very well to many sizes and shapes. Sometimes, with different designs, if you change the size to either bigger or smaller than the original dimensions, it throws off the general aesthetics. With Waterfall Collection, it always looks good. That’s why I like the Waterfall collection the most.

To go along with the question, what is your favorite type of wood?

Birch is my favorite. I like how it is original, nobody can make a fake birch. Every birch wood is different and unique.

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food would be Japanese. I like sushi. I like how Asian cuisines have variety of textures.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

When people don’t put things back to where they belong after use.

You must be a very neat person then?

Yes, I can be obnoxiously neat, but I’ve learned to live with some disorganization.

As a salesperson, what do you think is your strength?

Paying attention to details. Whether it is placing orders or talking with customers, I like to pay attention to details. I’ve learned that if you pay attention to the smaller details, the bigger details always seem to work themselves out. Also, I am a good listener.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Oh my, the list is very long.

Could you share a few?

Yes, I have never been to South American continent, so I would love to visit sometime. Machu Pichu and Buenos Ares are on my list.  I also want to visit Europe. Although I have traveled to Asia, I haven’t had chance to go to China and Japan, so they are also on the list.

Basically I want to travel all around the world. I plan to travel plenty after I retire.

Great, sounds like a lot of fun! Do you have any favorite movie or TV show?

Yes, I watch way too many Clint Eastward movies (laughs)

I have seen the Unforgiven probably forty times. I also like My Cousin Vinny.

Do you have anyone who you look up to for inspiration?

Yes, he is one of the most knowledgeable men in the world. His books are used as standard textbooks in three different areas. He was my professor from college. He is very passionate about his field. At the time I took his Aerodynamics class. I was stunned when I found out that he rehearses an entire lecture before he gives one. He has accomplished a lot in his field yet is still very humble, which is one of the reasons I admire him. I was pleasantly surprised when he walked into the Rockville showroom one day.

Oh did you invite him to the showroom?

No, he just walked in one day after many years. He loved the furniture in the showroom.

Wow, it’s always great to run into old acquaintances and friends you haven’t seen in a while.

Well, that’s all I have got. Thank you so much for your time!

Thank you (smiles)

 

 

Leave a Reply

